When the Words won’t Come

What do you do when the words won’t come?

I’m several chapters from completing my novel and due to the lack of words appearing on the screen it’s become a chore.

As a writer of non-fiction for the magazine market I’m a planner, so the chapters; all 52 of them were planned at the start, in-fact I’m so good at planning that several chapters that follow the one I need to write have already been written in advance.

At first I tried to convince myself that due to my personal situation I couldn’t get into the zone: You see it’s currently July and the temperature is in the 30’s and I’m in Italy. However my chapter takes place in early January in Stoke on Trent. But then I remind myself that I wrote about costume wearing ponies in Walsall at Christmas time during a summer in Stoke, so I can’t blame this on location or season.

I think it’s partly planning and anticipation that is to blame.

The chapter I am have to write is entitled, the Pregnant Bedlington Terrier and I have been so looking forward to writing this one, I have scribbled lots of funny lines inside my novel planner, I’ve invented the protagonist for the chapter, right down to his trainers and even have mental images of the scene I want to portray.

Maybe I’ve over-planned and now the story is stale and won’t flow. Maybe I’ve spent too long getting to this quirky piece that the fun has been drained from it. Maybe I just need to put it aside and plough on with other chapters that need to be written. Maybe I should just ditch it and come up with another chapter idea.

The problem Is I cannot decide, because not only are the words not coming, the idea of a replacement won’t come either.

So, it’s time away from the story and a trip to the beach.

This entry was posted in My Thoughts on Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the Words won’t Come

  1. go to the beach and worry about it later. Then write whatever comes into your head – you can always edit it later xxx

  2. mishaherwin says:

    I agree, take time away from the book. It works for me.

Leave a Reply

